Buy on Amazon

Author: Katherine McGee

Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers

Published: September 3, 2019

Book Description: What if America had a royal family? If you can’t get enough of Harry and Meghan or Kate and William, meet American princesses Beatrice and Samantha. Crazy Rich Asiansmeets The Crown. Perfect for fans of Red, White, and Royal Blue and The Royal We!

Two princesses vying for the ultimate crown. 
Two girls vying for the prince’s heart. 
This is the story of the American royals.

When America won the Revolutionary War, its people offered General George Washington a crown. Two and a half centuries later, the House of Washington still sits on the throne. Like most royal families, the Washingtons have an heir and a spare. A future monarch and a backup battery. Each child knows exactly what is expected of them. But these aren’t just any royals. They’re American.

As Princess Beatrice gets closer to becoming America’s first queen regnant, the duty she has embraced her entire life suddenly feels stifling. Nobody cares about the spare except when she’s breaking the rules, so Princess Samantha doesn’t care much about anything, either . . . except the one boy who is distinctly off-limits to her. And then there’s Samantha’s twin, Prince Jefferson. If he’d been born a generation earlier, he would have stood first in line for the throne, but the new laws of succession make him third. Most of America adores their devastatingly handsome prince . . . but two very different girls are vying to capture his heart.

The duty. The intrigue. The Crown. New York Times bestselling author Katharine McGee imagines an alternate version of the modern world, one where the glittering age of monarchies has not yet faded–and where love is still powerful enough to change the course of history.

“The lives of the American royal family will hook you in the very first pages and never let go. Relatable, believable, fantastical, aspirational, and completely addictive.” –Sara Shepard, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Pretty Little Liars and Perfectionists series

Rating: 4 Stars

Review: Personally, I have tried to stay away from Young Adult Novels as of recent, as we just haven’t meshed well. Low and behold, one of my favorite podcasts Bad on Paper selected this as their September Book Club Book. I said why not. The first 15% of this book I was like uh oh this is why I don’t enjoy reading YA, however, I am glad I persevered because I ended up loving this novel.

This is alternate history if George Washington’s became the first King of America instead of the first President of the United States. This does take place in present when we come to Princess Beatrice who will be the first female to ascend to the throne. This has four points of views, from Beatrice, Samantha, her younger sister, Nina who is Samantha’s best friend and lastly Daphne who is is the ex-girlfriend of Jeff who is the youngest royal.

Throughout this book there were times I absolutely wanted to throw this book as I just hated some some of the characters. I imagine that some of these storylines are not that far off, like marrying for fame and money or marrying the wrong person because it is the right thing to do for the family

I really did end up enjoying this one immensely. The only downfall for me and I did not realize that this will be a series and we do have to wait a year for the next book….boo. If you like The Royal We, then this book will be right up your alley.

Posted by:Lauren A.

You really can say I am an obsessed reader as I read 200-300 books per year. I love Literary Fiction, Memoirs (I don't really care what kind), Mysteries and Thrillers. Once in awhile I will thrown in some YA and Romance. When I am not reading, I am a Sales Engineer for a software company, and I take care of my three cats with my husband. I love music, which my college degree is in. Looking forward to share my thoughts on all things reading.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s