Author: Beth Morrey

Genre: Women’s Fiction

Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons

Publication Date: April 7, 2020

Book Description: For readers of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine and A Man Called Ove, a life-affirming, deeply moving “coming-of-old” story, a celebration of how ordinary days are made extraordinary through friendship, family, and the power of forgiving yourself–at any age.

“Here is a love story of the most important kind: that of coming to love oneself through accepting and returning the love of others–be it people or dogs.” –Elizabeth Berg, author of Night of Miracles

The world has changed around seventy-nine-year-old librarian Millicent Carmichael, aka Missy. Though quick to admit that she often found her roles as a housewife and mother less than satisfying, Missy once led a bustling life driven by two children, an accomplished and celebrated husband, and a Classics degree from Cambridge. Now her husband is gone, her daughter is estranged after a shattering argument, and her son has moved to his wife’s native Australia, taking Missy’s beloved only grandchild half-a-world away. She spends her days sipping sherry, avoiding people, and rattling around in her oversized, under-decorated house waiting for…what exactly?  

The last thing Missy expects is for two perfect strangers and one spirited dog named Bob to break through her prickly exterior and show Missy just how much love she still has to give. In short order, Missy finds herself in the jarring embrace of an eclectic community that simply won’t take no for an answer–including a rambunctious mutt-on-loan whose unconditional love gives Missy a reason to re-enter the world one muddy paw print at a time.  

Filled with wry laughter and deep insights, The Love Story of Missy Carmichael is a coming-of-old story that shows us it’s never too late to forgive yourself and, just as important, it’s never too late to love.

Rating: 2.75 Stars

Review: As we are going through vast changes everyday, I am finding reading very difficult right now. I have turned to Audiobooks, but am still reading the galleys that I am so very happy to receive. I am very much on the fence on this one. There were some highs and lows with the story.

We meet Missy, a seventy-nine year old widow who has had satisfying life. She was married to Leo, raised two kids, and was a librarian. As this book starts we are in current times and things are not going so well. She is estranged from her daughter and her son has moved far away. Throughout this book Missy reflects on her life. Dating, meeting and falling in love with her husband. And of course having her children and all the ups and downs.

This book is about reflection as Missy heads into the twilight of her life. The book adds the humor and love of a dog that Missy begrudgingly agrees to foster. If you ask me Bob is the highlight of this book and the love that Missy yearned for.

Here is where I have major qualms, I wish publishers would stop comparing books to other books that we hold so dear to theheart. When I saw for fans of A Man Called Ove and Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine I thought yes. However, I find these books don’t live up to those standards I have set so high. I think we would be much better going in blind.

This is book is perfectly line, it was just missing that sparkle I so wanted.

Thank you NetGalley and G.P. Putnam for an Advanced Reader’s Copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Posted by:Lauren A.

You really can say I am an obsessed reader as I read 200-300 books per year. I love Literary Fiction, Memoirs (I don't really care what kind), Mysteries and Thrillers. Once in awhile I will thrown in some YA and Romance. When I am not reading, I am a Sales Engineer for a software company, and I take care of my three cats with my husband. I love music, which my college degree is in. Looking forward to share my thoughts on all things reading.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s