Author: Julie Clark

Genre: Mystery & Thrillers

Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark

Publication Date: June 23, 2020

Book Description: Two women. Two Flights. One last chance to disappear.

Claire Cook has a perfect life. Married to the scion of a political dynasty, with a Manhattan townhouse and a staff of ten, her surroundings are elegant, her days flawlessly choreographed, and her future auspicious. But behind closed doors, nothing is quite as it seems. That perfect husband has a temper that burns as bright as his promising political career, and he’s not above using his staff to track Claire’s every move, making sure she’s living up to his impossible standards. But what he doesn’t know is that Claire has worked for months on a plan to vanish. 

A chance meeting in an airport bar brings her together with a woman whose circumstances seem equally dire. Together they make a last-minute decision to switch tickets — Claire taking Eva’s flight to Oakland, and Eva traveling to Puerto Rico as Claire. They believe the swap will give each of them the head start they need to begin again somewhere far away. But when the flight to Puerto Rico goes down, Claire realizes it’s no longer a head start but a new life. Cut off, out of options, with the news of her death about to explode in the media, Claire will assume Eva’s identity, and along with it, the secrets Eva fought so hard to keep hidden.

For fans of Lisa Jewell and Liv Constantine, The Last Flight is the story of two women — both alone, both scared — and one agonizing decision that will change the trajectory of both of their lives.

Rating: 4 Stars

Review: This book has gotten a lot of hype prior to next week’s publication date and I can see why. Centered around two women meeting by chance, or was it.

Claire Cook is married into a prominent public family and her husband is about to announce his run for Senator. There is a major issue, her husband is abusive to her. Claire, is planning on her escape and with the help of two well connected high school friends, she is very close.

When we meet Eva James, we know very little of her. She meets Claire at the airport and due to unforeseen complications to Claire’s travel, they exchange places. Claire will go to Oakland and Eva will go Puerto Rico and they will trade identities.

When Claire lands in Oakland there is one problem, the plane with Eva has crashed and their are no survivors. You would think that would be in her favor, but this really sets up the one crazy ride.

Told in two Point of Views. Claire after the crash, and Eva in the month’s leading up to the crash. Up until the last quarter, I would have never guessed the ending, but Clark does give great clues throughout. She also happens to leave one surprise to the very last sentence.

This was a really great thriller. The story moved extremely fast. The alternating time lines add a nice layer of complexity. This is a thriller that I will be recommending all summer.

Thank you NetGalley and Sourcebooks Landmark for an Advanced Reader’s Copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Posted by:Lauren A.

You really can say I am an obsessed reader as I read 200-300 books per year. I love Literary Fiction, Memoirs (I don't really care what kind), Mysteries and Thrillers. Once in awhile I will thrown in some YA and Romance. When I am not reading, I am a Sales Engineer for a software company, and I take care of my three cats with my husband. I love music, which my college degree is in. Looking forward to share my thoughts on all things reading.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s