Author: Alice Hoffman

Genre: Historical Fiction

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Publication Date: October 5, 2021

Book Description: Master storyteller Alice Hoffman brings us the conclusion of the Practical Magic series in a spellbinding and enchanting final Owens novel brimming with lyric beauty and vivid characters.

The Owens family has been cursed in matters of love for over three-hundred years but all of that is about to change. The novel begins in a library, the best place for a story to be conjured, when beloved aunt Jet Owens hears the deathwatch beetle and knows she has only seven days to live. Jet is not the only one in danger—the curse is already at work.

A frantic attempt to save a young man’s life spurs three generations of the Owens women, and one long-lost brother, to use their unusual gifts to break the curse as they travel from Paris to London to the English countryside where their ancestor Maria Owens first practiced the Unnamed Art. The younger generation discovers secrets that have been hidden from them in matters of both magic and love by Sally, their fiercely protective mother. As Kylie Owens uncovers the truth about who she is and what her own dark powers are, her aunt Franny comes to understand that she is ready to sacrifice everything for her family, and Sally Owens realizes that she is willing to give up everything for love.

The Book of Magic is a breathtaking conclusion that celebrates mothers and daughters, sisters and brothers, and anyone who has ever been in love.

Rating: 4 Stars

Review: For all fans of Practical Magic, this is the final book in that series. While Alice Hoffman has written 4 books all out of order, this is truly the final book, as it surrounds the children of Sally Owens who are searching to end their family curse.

When the story opens Jet hears the sound of the infamous death watch beetle and knows she has seven days to live, but she is not the only one that the curse might hit. This sets Kylie the youngest daughter of Sally to uncover her history and on a mission to break this curse. Hoffman writes of a family journey of an unbreakable bond that will travel all over the world to solve this puzzle.

Just like every book in this series, I equally loved this one. The Owens family is a lot like any other family, with secrets, and love, and lots of dilemmas they have to overcome. This family just comes with a bit of magic. This was a great conclusion to this wonderful series. It was everything I hoped it would be.

Thank you NetGalley and Simon & Schuster for an Advanced Reader’s Copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Posted by:Lauren A.

You really can say I am an obsessed reader as I read 200-300 books per year. I love Literary Fiction, Memoirs (I don't really care what kind), Mysteries and Thrillers. Once in awhile I will thrown in some YA and Romance. When I am not reading, I am a Sales Engineer for a software company, and I take care of my three cats with my husband. I love music, which my college degree is in. Looking forward to share my thoughts on all things reading.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s