The Cactus League – Book Review

Author: Emily Nemens Genre: General Fiction Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux Publication Date: February 4, 2020 Book Description: An explosive, character-driven odyssey through the world of baseball from Emily Nemens, the editor of The Paris Review Jason Goodyear is the star outfielder for the Los Angeles Lions, stationed with the rest of his team in…

Read More

Anger Is My Middle Name – Book Review

Author: Lisbeth Zornig Andersen; Trans: Mark Mussari Genre: Memoir Publisher: AmazonCrossing Publication Date: March 3, 2020 Book Description: An empowering memoir of resilience and redemption, and the rage that helped a girl escape the darkness of a harrowing childhood. Born to a violently dysfunctional home in working-class Denmark, Lisbeth Zornig Andersen and her three older…

Read More

When We Were Vikings – Book Review

Author: Andrew David MacDonald Genre: Literary Fiction Publisher: Scout Press Published: January 28, 2020 Book Description: A heart-swelling debut for fans of The Silver Linings Playbook and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time. Sometimes life isn’t as simple as heroes and villains. For Zelda, a twenty-one-year-old Viking enthusiast who lives with her…

Read More

The Wives – Book Review

Author: Tarryn Fisher Genre: Thriller Publisher: Graydon House Publication Date: December 30, 2019 Book Description: “You’ll have whiplash until the very end.”—New York Times bestselling author Colleen Hoover Thursday’s husband, Seth, has two other wives. She’s never met them, and she doesn’t know anything about them. She agreed to this unusual arrangement because she’s so…

Read More

Followers – Book Review

Author: Megan Angelo Genre: Sci Fi & Fantasy, Women’s Fiction Publisher: Graydon House Publication Date: January 14, 2020 Book Description: Orla Cadden is a budding novelist stuck in a dead-end job, writing clickbait about movie-star hookups and influencer yoga moves. Then Orla meets Floss—a striving, wannabe A-lister—who comes up with a plan for launching them…

Read More

Long Bright River – Book Review

Author: Liz Moore Genre: Contemporary Fiction Publisher: Riverhead Books Published: January 7, 2020 Book Description: Two sisters travel the same streets,though their lives couldn’t be more different. Then one of them goes missing. In a Philadelphia neighborhood rocked by the opioid crisis, two once-inseparable sisters find themselves at odds. One, Kacey, lives on the streets…

Read More

Dear Edward – Book Review

Author: Ann Napolitano Genre: Literary Fiction Publisher: Dial Press Publication Date: January 6, 2020 Book Description: What does it mean not just to survive, but to truly live? One summer morning, twelve-year-old Edward Adler, his beloved older brother, his parents, and 183 other passengers board a flight in Newark headed for Los Angeles. Among them…

Read More