Blog Feed

The Narrowboat Summer – Book Review

Author: Anne Youngson Genre: Women’s Fiction Publisher: Flatiron Books Publication Date: January 26, 2021 Book Description: From the author of Meet Me at the Museum, a charming novel of second chances, about three women, one dog, and the narrowboat that brings them togetherEve expected Sally to come festooned with suitcases and overnight bags packed with…

Read More

Detransition, Baby – Book Review

Author: Torrey Peters Genre: Literary Fiction/LGTBQ Publisher: Random House Publication Date: January 12. 2021 Book Description: Reese almost had it all: a loving relationship with Amy, an apartment in New York City, a job she didn’t hate. She had scraped together what previous generations of trans women could only dream of: a life of mundane,…

Read More

The Center Of Everything – Mini Book Review

Author: Jamie Harrison Genre: Literary Fiction Publisher: Counterpoint Press Publication Date: January 12, 2021 Book Description: Set against the wild beauty of Montana as a woman attempts to heal from a devastating accident, this generational saga from the award-winning author of The Widow Nash is a heartfelt examination of how the deep bonds of family…

Read More

The Ocean House: Stories – Mini Book Review

Author: Mary-Beth Hughes Genre: Short Stories/General Fiction Publisher: Grove Press Publication Date: January 12, 2021 Book Description: A stunning story cycle from bestsellingNew York TimesNotable author, Mary-Beth Hughes, The Ocean House explores the fractured lives of families from a beach town on the Jersey Shore as the consequences of loss pass through generations. Faith, a mother of two…

Read More

Minus Me – Book Review

Author: Mameve Medwed Genre: General Fiction/Women’s Fiction Publisher: Alcove Press Publication Date: January 12, 2021 Book Description: Her life turned upside down by a grim diagnosis, a small-town Maine woman sets about writing a “How To” life manual for her handsome yet hapless husband in a novel Elinor Lipman (Good Riddance, On Turpentine Lane) calls…

Read More

The Wife Upstairs – Book Review

Author: Rachel Hawkins Genre: General Fiction Publisher: St. Martin’s Press/Macmillan Audio Publication Date: January 5, 2021 Book Description: A delicious twist on a Gothic classic, Rachel Hawkins’s The Wife Upstairs pairs Southern charm with atmospheric domestic suspense, perfect for fans of B.A. Paris and Megan Miranda. Meet Jane. Newly arrived to Birmingham, Alabama, Jane is…

Read More

The Art of Falling – Mini Book Review

Author: Danielle McLaughlin Genre: Literary Fiction Publisher: Random House Publication Date: January 5, 2020 Book Description: In this “delicate slow burn of a novel” (Jan Carson), a woman’s marriage and career are threatened by an old indiscretion just as she receives the opportunity of a lifetime—from the award–winning author of the “extraordinary” (Colum McCann) Dinosaurs…

Read More