Blog Feed

Big Girl, Small Town – Book Review

Author: Michelle Gallen Genre: Literary Fiction Publisher: Algonquin Publication Date: December 1, 2020 Book Description: Meet Majella O’Neill, a heroine like no other, in this captivating Irish debut that has been called Milkman meets Derry Girls Majella is happiest out of the spotlight, away from her neighbors’ stares and the gossips of the small town…

Read More

My Week in Reading – 11/23/2020

To all people in the United States, happy week of Thanksgiving. Even though 2020, has not been the year any of us expected, there is still a lot to be thankful for. I have a wonderful husband and family who are all extremely supportive. I am lucky enough to be in a job that I…

Read More

After All I’ve Done – Book Review

Author: Mina Hardy Genre: Mystery & Thrillers Publisher: Crooked Lane Books Publication Date: November 10th, 2020 Book Description: Writing as Mina Hardy, New York Times bestselling author Megan Hart delivers a thrilling new psychological suspense for fans of The Woman in the Window and When the Lights Go Out. She’s lost her best friend, her…

Read More

White Ivy – Book Review

Author: Susie Yang Genre: Literary Mystery Publisher: Simon & Schuster Publication Date: November 3, 2020 Book Description: From prizewinning Chinese American author Susie Yang, this dazzling coming-of-age novel about a young woman’s dark obsession with her privileged classmate offers sharp insights into the immigrant experience. Ivy Lin is a thief and a liar—but you’d never…

Read More

The Harpy – Book Review

Author: Megan Hunter Genre: General Fiction Publisher: Grove Press Publication Date: November 3, 2020 Book Description: Part revenge tale, part fairytale, The Harpy is an electrifying story of marriage, infidelity and power by the author of the #1 Indie Next Pick, The End We Start From, Megan Hunter Lucy and Jake live in a house…

Read More

Love Your Life – Book Review

Author: Sophie Kinsella Genre: Women’s Fiction/Romance Publisher: Dial Press Publication Date: October 27, 2020 Book Description: Call Ava romantic, but she thinks love should be found in the real world, not on apps that filter men by height, job, or astrological sign. She believes in feelings, not algorithms. So after a recent breakup and dating…

Read More

Group: How One Therapist and a Circle of Strangers Saved My Life – Book Review

Author: Christie Tate Genre: Memoir Publisher: Avid Reader Press Publication Date: October 27, 2020 Book Description: The refreshingly original debut memoir of a guarded, over-achieving, self-lacerating young lawyer who reluctantly agrees to get psychologically and emotionally naked in a room of six complete strangers—her psychotherapy group—and in turn finds human connection, and herself. Christie Tate…

Read More

When These Mountains Burn – Mini Review

Author: David Joy Genre: Mystery Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Publication Date: August 18, 2020 Book Description: Acclaimed author and “remarkably gifted storyteller” (The Charlotte Observer) David Joy returns with a fierce and tender tale of a father, an addict, a lawman, and the explosive events that come to unite them. When his addict son gets…

Read More