Blog Feed

The Daughters of Erietown – Book Review

Author: Connie Schultz Genre: Literary Fiction/Historical Fiction Publisher: Random House Publication Date: June 9, 2020 Book Description: Hidden desires, long-held secrets, and the sacrifices people make for family are at the heart of this powerful first novel by the popular Pulitzer Prize–winning journalist. “A moving, unforgettable story about time, progress, and how the mistakes of…

Read More

Always the Last to Know – Book Review

Author: Kristan Higgins Genre: Contemporary Fiction Publisher: Berkley Publishing Group Publication Date: June 9, 2020 Book Description: Sometimes you have to break a family to fix it. From New York Times bestselling author Kristan Higgins, a new novel examining a family at the breaking point in all its messy, difficult, wonderful complexity. The Frosts are…

Read More

An Elegant Woman – Book Review

Author: Martha McPhee Genre: Fiction Publisher: Scribner Publication Date: June 2, 2020 Book Description: For fans of Mary Beth Keane and Jennifer Egan, this powerful, moving multigenerational saga from National Book Award finalist Martha McPhee—ten years in the making—explores one family’s story against the sweep of 20th century American history. Drawn from the author’s own…

Read More

The House on Fripp Island – Book Review

Author: Rebecca Kauffman Genre: General Fiction Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publication Date: June 2, 2020 Book Description: A taut, page-turning novel of secrets and strife. When two families—one rich, one not—vacation together off the coast of South Carolina, little do they know that someone won’t be returning home. Fripp Island, South Carolina is the perfect destination…

Read More

Remain Silent – Book Review

Author: Susie Steiner Genre: Mystery & Thrillers Publisher: Random House Publication Date: June 2, 2020 Book Description: An immigrant’s mysterious death sets off a chilling hunt for the truth in this gripping crime novel from the author of Missing, Presumed, featuring a “delightful protagonist who deserves a place alongside other beloved literary detectives” (Kirkus Reviews,…

Read More

A Second Home – Book Review

Author: Christina Clancy Genre: Women’s Fiction Publisher: St. Martin’s Press Publication Date: June 2, 2020 Book Description: After a disastrous summer spent at her family summer home on Cape Cod, seventeen-year-old Ann Gordon was left with a secret that changed her life forever, and created a rift between her sister, Poppy, and their adopted brother,…

Read More

Eden – Book Review

Author: Jamie Lisa Forbes Genre: Literary Fiction Publisher: Pronghorn Press Publication Date: May 25. 2020 Book Description: Rowen Hart has been raised as the pampered son and only child of a prominent family in the small community of White Rock, North Carolina. It’s the 1950s and he’s drifting through the days, following the life path…

Read More

A Happy Catastrophe – Book Review

Author: Maddie Dawson Genre: General Fiction Publisher: Lake Union Publishing Publication Date: May 26, 2020 Book Description: From the bestselling author of Matchmaking for Beginners comes a novel about love, loss, and the beautiful mess of family. Marnie MacGraw and Patrick Delaney have been in love for a few years now, enough to realize that…

Read More

Catherine House – Book Review

Author: Elisabeth Thomas Genre: Literary Fiction Publisher: Custom House/Random House Publication Date: May 12, 2020 Book Description: A gothic-infused debut of literary suspense, set within a secluded, elite university and following a dangerously curious, rebellious undergraduate who uncovers a shocking secret about an exclusive circle of students . . . and the dark truth beneath…

Read More

Love Letters from Montmartre – Book Review

Author: Nicolas Barreau Genre: Fiction/Romance Publisher: Arcade Publication Date: May 12, 2020 Book Description: For fans of Nina George, Elena Ferrante, and Valentina Cebeni, a charming, uplifting novel about a man who sets out to fulfil his dead wife’s last wish. Julien Azouly, the famous French writer of beautiful romance novels, has stopped believing in…

Read More