Blog Feed

The Ocean House: Stories – Mini Book Review

Author: Mary-Beth Hughes Genre: Short Stories/General Fiction Publisher: Grove Press Publication Date: January 12, 2021 Book Description: A stunning story cycle from bestsellingNew York TimesNotable author, Mary-Beth Hughes, The Ocean House explores the fractured lives of families from a beach town on the Jersey Shore as the consequences of loss pass through generations. Faith, a mother of two…

Read More

Minus Me – Book Review

Author: Mameve Medwed Genre: General Fiction/Women’s Fiction Publisher: Alcove Press Publication Date: January 12, 2021 Book Description: Her life turned upside down by a grim diagnosis, a small-town Maine woman sets about writing a “How To” life manual for her handsome yet hapless husband in a novel Elinor Lipman (Good Riddance, On Turpentine Lane) calls…

Read More

The Wife Upstairs – Book Review

Author: Rachel Hawkins Genre: General Fiction Publisher: St. Martin’s Press/Macmillan Audio Publication Date: January 5, 2021 Book Description: A delicious twist on a Gothic classic, Rachel Hawkins’s The Wife Upstairs pairs Southern charm with atmospheric domestic suspense, perfect for fans of B.A. Paris and Megan Miranda. Meet Jane. Newly arrived to Birmingham, Alabama, Jane is…

Read More

The Art of Falling – Mini Book Review

Author: Danielle McLaughlin Genre: Literary Fiction Publisher: Random House Publication Date: January 5, 2020 Book Description: In this “delicate slow burn of a novel” (Jan Carson), a woman’s marriage and career are threatened by an old indiscretion just as she receives the opportunity of a lifetime—from the award–winning author of the “extraordinary” (Colum McCann) Dinosaurs…

Read More

The Mystery of Mrs. Christie – Book Review

Author: Marie Benedict Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark Publication Date: December 29th Book Description: In December 1926, Agatha Christie goes missing. Investigators find her empty car on the edge of a deep, gloomy pond, the only clues some tire tracks nearby and a fur coat left in the car—strange for a frigid night. Her…

Read More

What Could Be Saved – Book Review

Author: Liese O’Halloran Schwartz Publisher: Atria Books Genre: General Fiction Publication Date: January 12, 2021 Book Description: “A harrowing tale of the lies of omission and the lies of commission that can break a family apart, What Could Be Saved is a delicious hybrid of mystery, drama, and elegance: rich with detail, lush in language,…

Read More

My Week in Reading – 12/21/2020

Happy Holidays! I can’t believe it is the week of Christmas. I am lucky enough that my in my day job we have a corporate shut down this week, so I can focus a little on me. Reading has slowed down significantly for me this month, but I am hoping to read a few more…

Read More

The Paris Library – Book Review

Author: Janet Skeslien Charles Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Atria Books Publication Date: February 9, 2020 Book Description: Based on the true World War II story of the heroic librarians at the American Library in Paris, this is an unforgettable story of romance, friendship, family, and the power of literature to bring us together, perfect for…

Read More