Blog Feed

So We Meet Again – Book Review

Author: Suzanne Park Genre: Women’s Fiction/Romance Publisher: Avon Publication Date: August 3, 2021 Book Description: From the author of the “genuinely funny” and “delightful” Loathe at First Sight (NPR), a young Korean American woman’s journey to finding a new career and new love means learning to embrace the awkward and unexpected—exploring familial expectations, finding your…

Read More

The Turnout – Book Review

Author: Megan Abbott Genre: Mystery & Thrillers Publisher: G.P. Putnam Sons Publication Date: August 3, 2021 Book Description: Bestselling and award-winning author Megan Abbott’s revelatory and mesmerizing new novel set against the hothouse of a family-run ballet studio. With their long necks and matching buns and pink tights, Dara and Marie Durant have been dancers…

Read More

Damnation Spring – Book Review

Author: Ash Davidson Genre: General Fiction Publisher: Scribner Publication Date: August 3, 2021 Book Description: An epic, immersive debut, Damnation Spring is the deeply human story of a Pacific Northwest logging town wrenched in two by a mystery that threatens to derail its way of life. For generations, Rich Gundersen’s family has chopped a livelihood…

Read More

A Women of Intelligence – Book Review

Author: Karin Tanabe Genre: Women’s Fiction Publisher: St. Martin’s Press/MacMillan Audio Publication Date: July 20th, 2021 Book Description: From “a master of historical fiction” (NPR), Karin Tanabe’s A Woman of Intelligence is an exhilarating tale of post-war New York City, and one remarkable woman’s journey from the United Nations, to the cloistered drawing rooms of…

Read More

Bewilderness – Book Review

Author: Karen Tucker Genre: Literary Fiction Publisher: Catapult Publication Date: June 1, 2021 Book Description: Set in rural, poverty-stricken North Carolina, this “beautiful, gritty, and piercing” novel follows two young women—best friends—as they “journey through the highs and lows of friendship, love, and addiction,” perfect for readers of Julie Buntin’s Marlena (Erika Carter, author of…

Read More

Razorblade Tears – Book Review

Author: S.A. Cosby Genre: Mystery & Thrillers Publisher: Flatiron/Macmillan Audio Publication Date: July 6th, 2021 Book Description: A Black father. A white father. Two murdered sons. A quest for vengeance. Ike Randolph has been out of jail for fifteen years, with not so much as a speeding ticket in all that time. But a Black…

Read More

Wayward – Mini Book Review

Author: Dana Spiotta Genre: General Fiction Publisher: Knopf Publication Date: July 6, 2021 Book Description: On the heels of the election of 2016, Samantha Raymond’s life begins to come apart: her mother is ill, her teenage daughter is increasingly remote, and at fifty-two she finds herself staring into “the Mids”–that hour of supreme wakefulness between…

Read More

Shoulder Season – Book Review

Author: Christina Clancy Genre: Women’s Fiction Publisher: St. Martin’s Press/Macmillan Audio Publication Date: July 6, 2021 Book Description: A dazzling portrait of a young woman coming into her own, the youthful allure of sex, drugs, and rock and roll, and what we lose—and gain—when we leave home. ONCE IN A LIFETIME, YOU CAN HAVE THE…

Read More

(Re)Born in the USA – Mini Book Review

Author: Roger Bennett Genre: Memoirs Publisher: Dey Street Books Publication Date: June 29, 2021 Book Description: One-half of the celebrated Men in Blazers duo, longtime culture and soccer commentator Roger Bennett traces the origins of his love affair with America, and how he went from a depraved, pimply faced Jewish boy in 1980’s Liverpool to…

Read More