Good Morning, Monster – Book Review

Author: Catherine Gildiner Genre: Memoir Publisher: St. Martin’s Press Publication Date: September, 22, 2020 Book Description: In this fascinating narrative, therapist Catherine Gildiner’s presents five of what she calls her most heroic and memorable patients. Among them: a successful, first generation Chinese immigrant musician suffering sexual dysfunction; a young woman whose father abandoned her at…

Read More

The Brother Years – Mini Book Review

Author: Shannon Burke Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Pantheon Books Publication Date: August 4, 2020 Book Description: “In our family, there was none of this crap about everyone being a winner,” says Willie, the narrator, who looks back on his teen years–and his nearly mortal combat with his domineering older brother, Coyle. In the Brennan house…

Read More

Escaping Dreamland – Book Review

Author: Charlie Lovett Genre: Literary Fiction/Historical Fiction Publisher: Blackstone Publishing Publication Date: September 22, 2020 Book Description: In 1906 New York City, a trio of young people come together to write a series of children’s books that echo down the generations in unexpected ways. Robert Parrish’s childhood obsession with series books like the Hardy Boys…

Read More

Eat A Peach – Mini Book Review

Author: David Chang Genre: Memoir Publisher: Clarkson Potter Publishers Publication Date: September 8, 2020 Book Description: In 2004, Momofuku Noodle Bar opened in a tiny, stark space in Manhattan’s East Village. Its young chef-owner, David Chang, worked the line, serving ramen and pork buns to a mix of fellow restaurant cooks and confused diners whose…

Read More

A Better Man – Blog Tour/Review

Author: Michael Ian Black Genre: Non-Fiction/Parenting & Families Publisher: Algonquin Publication Date: September 15, 2020 Book Description: In this thoughtful, inspiring, and deeply personal book, comedian, actor, and father Michael Ian Black gets (mostly) serious about the trouble with masculinity. In the form of a heartfelt letter to his college-bound son—but with ideas sure to…

Read More

The Big Door Prize – Book Review

Author: M.O. Walsh Genre: Literary Fiction Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Publication Date: September 8, 2020 Book Description: What would you do if you knew your life’s potential? That’s the question facing the residents of Deerfield, Louisiana, when the DNAMIX machine appears in their local grocery store. It’s nothing to look at, really–it resembles a plain…

Read More

The Lightness – Mini Book Review

Author: Emily Temple Genre: Literary Fiction Publisher: William Morrow Publication Date: June 16, 2020 Book Description: A stylish, stunningly precise, and suspenseful meditation on adolescent desire, female friendship, and the female body that shimmers with rage, wit, and fierce longing—an audacious, darkly observant, and mordantly funny literary debut for fans of Emma Cline, Ottessa Moshfegh,…

Read More

In the Clearing – Book Review

Author: J. P. Pomare Genre: Mystery & Thriller Publisher: Mulholland Books Publication Date: September 8, 2020 Book Description: A ticking-clock thriller that braids together the stories of a girl raised in a terrifying cult, and of an overprotective single mother whose fears for her child are about to come true. Amy has only ever known…

Read More

Before the Ever After – Mini Book Review

Author: Jacqueline Woodson Genre: Middle Grade Publisher: Nancy Paulson Books Publication Date: September 1, 2020 Book Description: National Book Award winner Jacqueline Woodson’s stirring novel explores how a family moves forward when their glory days have passed. For as long as ZJ can remember, his dad has been everyone’s hero. As a charming, talented pro…

Read More