Shoulder Season – Book Review

Author: Christina Clancy Genre: Women’s Fiction Publisher: St. Martin’s Press/Macmillan Audio Publication Date: July 6, 2021 Book Description: A dazzling portrait of a young woman coming into her own, the youthful allure of sex, drugs, and rock and roll, and what we lose—and gain—when we leave home. ONCE IN A LIFETIME, YOU CAN HAVE THE…

Read More

(Re)Born in the USA – Mini Book Review

Author: Roger Bennett Genre: Memoirs Publisher: Dey Street Books Publication Date: June 29, 2021 Book Description: One-half of the celebrated Men in Blazers duo, longtime culture and soccer commentator Roger Bennett traces the origins of his love affair with America, and how he went from a depraved, pimply faced Jewish boy in 1980’s Liverpool to…

Read More

The Maidens – Mini Book Review

Author: Alex Michaelides Genre: Mystery & Thrillers Publisher: Celadon Books/Macmillan Audio Publication Date: June 15, 2021 Book Description: Edward Fosca is a murderer. Of this Mariana is certain. But Fosca is untouchable. A handsome and charismatic Greek tragedy professor at Cambridge University, Fosca is adored by staff and students alike—particularly by the members of a…

Read More

Home Stretch – Book Review

Author: Graham Norton Genre: Literary Fiction Publisher: HarperVia Publication Date: June 22, 2021 Book Description: In this “compelling, bighearted, emotionally precise page-turner” (Sunday Times), the New York Times bestselling writer and acclaimed television host explores the aftermath of a tragedy on a small-town to illuminate the shame and longing that can flow through generations—and how…

Read More

Haven Point – Book Review

Author: Virginia Hume Genre: Women’s Fiction Publisher: St. Martin’s Press/Macmillan Audio Publication Date: June 8, 2021 Book Description: A sweeping debut novel about the generations of a family that spends summers in a seaside enclave on Maine’s rocky coastline, for fans of Elin Hilderbrand, Beatriz Williams, and Sarah Blake. 1944: Maren Larsen is a blonde beauty…

Read More

Blush – Book Review

Author: Jamie Brenner Genre: Women’s Fiction Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Publication Date: June 22, 2021 Book Description: From acclaimed author Jamie Brenner comes a stunning new novel about three generations of women who discover that the scandalous books of their past may just be the key to saving their family’s future. For decades, the Hollander…

Read More

One Two Three – Book Review

Author: Laurie Frankel Genre: Women’s Fiction Publisher: Henry Holt & Company/Macmillan Audio Publication Date: June 8, 2021 Book Description: In a town where nothing ever changes, suddenly everything does… Everyone knows everyone in the tiny town of Bourne, but the Mitchell triplets are especially beloved. Mirabel is the smartest person anyone knows, and no one…

Read More

The Disappearing Act – Book Review

Author: Catherine Steadman Genre: Mystery & Thrillers Publisher: Ballentine Books Publication Date: June 8, 2021 Book Description: Once a year, actors from across the globe descend on the smog and sunshine of Los Angeles for pilot season. Every cable network and studio is looking to fill the rosters of their new shows, enticing a fresh…

Read More

House of Sticks – Book Review

Author: Ly Tran Genre: Memoir Publisher: Scribner Publication Date: June 1, 2021 Book Description: An intimate, beautifully written coming-of-age memoir recounting a young girl’s journey from war-torn Vietnam to Ridgewood, Queens, and her struggle to find her voice amid clashing cultural expectations. Ly Tran is just a toddler in 1993 when she and her family…

Read More

Somebody’s Daughter – Mini Book Review

Author: Ashley C. Ford Genre: Memoir Publisher: Macmillan Audio Publication Date: June 1, 2021 Book Description: Through poverty, adolescence, and a fraught relationship with her mother, Ashley Ford wishes she could turn to her father for hope and encouragement. There are just a few problems: he’s in prison, and she doesn’t know what he did…

Read More