The Unsinkable Greta James – Book Review

Author: Jennifer E. Smith Genre: Women’s Fiction Publisher: Ballentine Books Publication Date: March 1, 2022 Book Description: Right after the sudden death of her mother—her first and most devoted fan—and just before the launch of her high-stakes sophomore album, Greta James falls apart on stage. The footage quickly goes viral and she stops playing, her…

Read More

Would I Lie To You? – Book Review

Author: Aliya Ali-Afzal Genre: Women’s Fiction Publisher: Grand Central Publishing Publication Date: February 22, 2022 Book Description: At the school gates, Faiza fits in. It took a few years, but now the snobbish white mothers who mistook her for the nanny treat her as one of their own. She’s learned to crack their subtle codes,…

Read More

A Very Nice Girl – Book Review

Author: Imogen Crimp Genre: General Fiction Publisher: Henry Holt & Company Publication Date: February 8, 2022 Book Description: A bitingly honest, darkly funny debut about ambition, sex, power, and love, Imogen Crimp’s A Very Nice Girl cracks open the timeless questions of what it is to be young, what it is to want to be…

Read More

Devil House – Book Review

Author: John Danielle Genre: Fiction Publisher: Farrar, Straus & Giroux Publication Date: January 25, 2022 Book Description: From John Darnielle, the New York Times bestselling author and the singer-songwriter of the Mountain Goats, comes an epic, gripping novel about murder, truth, and the dangers of storytelling. Gage Chandler is descended from kings. That’s what his…

Read More

The Arc – Book Review

Author: Tory Henwood Hoen Genre: Romance/Women’s Fiction Publisher: St. Martin’s Press Publication Date: February 8, 2022 Book Description: Can you curate your soulmate? Thirty-five-year-old Ursula Byrne, VP of Strategic Audacity at a branding agency in Manhattan, is successful, witty, whip-smart, and single. She’s tried all the dating apps, and let’s just say: she’s underwhelmed by…

Read More

Our American Friend – Mini Book Review

Author: Anna Pitoniak Genre: Fiction/Historical Fiction/Mystery Publisher: Simon & Schuster Publication Date: February 15, 2022 Book Description: A mysterious First Lady. The intrepid journalist writing her biography. And the secret that could destroy them both. Tired of covering the grating dysfunction of Washington and the increasingly outrageous antics of President Henry Caine, White House correspondent…

Read More

Black Cake – Book Review

Author: Charmaine Wilkerson Genre: Literary Fiction Publisher: Ballentine Books Publication Date: February 1, 2022 Book Description: We can’t choose what we inherit. But can we choose who we become?In present-day California, Eleanor Bennett’s death leaves behind a puzzling inheritance for her two children, Byron and Benny: a traditional Caribbean black cake, made from a family…

Read More

Circus of Wonders – Book Review

Author: Elizabeth Macneal Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Atria Books Publication Date: February 1, 2022 Book Description: Step up, step up! In 1860s England, circus mania is sweeping the nation. Crowds jostle for a glimpse of the lion-tamers, the dazzling trapeze artists and, most thrilling of all, the so-called “human wonders.” When Jasper Jupiter’s Circus of…

Read More

The Christie Affair – Book Review

Author: Nina de Gramont Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: St. Martin’s Press Publication Date: February 1, 2022 Book Description: Why would the world’s most famous mystery writer disappear for eleven days? What makes a woman desperate enough to destroy another woman’s marriage? How deeply can a person crave revenge? In 1925, Miss Nan O’Dea infiltrated the…

Read More

The Appeal – Book Review

Author: Janice Hallett Genre: Mystery & Thrillers Publisher: Atria Books Publication Date: January 25, 2022 Book Description: Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware and Lisa Jewell, this “dazzlingly clever” (The Sunday Times, London) murder mystery follows a community rallying around a sick child—but when escalating lies lead to a dead body, everyone is a suspect.…

Read More